Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or it is responsibility of producers to avoid extra packaging of products? Give your views or any relevant example with your own experiences.

These days, there is a controversial debate between people about over packaged products. While it is possible to claim that packing of product plays an important role in marketing and hygiene of a product, my view is that extra packaging brings unnecessary consequences for our society. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing why consumers and producers should avoid over packing products.

First of all, there are several reasons why extra packaged products should be avoid by consumers. One of them is that the products are overpriced because of the investment on extra packing machineries. For example, the price of a candy is 20 cents in the past and it increases to 1 dollar due to the growth in packaging cost. People are also spending extra money for an over packaging product which can create a compound effect on financial control of the society.

Secondly, producers should also avoid extra packaging of products. It can be claimed that the producers are wasting the global resources on extra packaging to attract consumer’s attention on the products. For instance, Loli, a food production company in Myanmar, produced instant coffee with attractive packaging standard and National Environment Agency of Myanmar blamed that Loli used 2% of country’s resources on its packaging. Thus, producers are also responsible to reduce extra packaging.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the cases, my view is that consumers have the major responsibility on the problems of over packaging products since they are the major target of product manufacturers. I would strongly suggest that governments should enforce to increase the tax of over packaging manufacturers.