A writing assessment is an exam in which the students have to demonstrate their skills on writing. Some people believe written assessments can display a student's writing skills while others don't. In this Essay we will discuss about how students can reveal about their writing skills in a test.

A writing exam can display a students skill by prompting difficult questions to the students and make them answer for it. Because, in order to answer complex grammatical questions, one must be proficient in his language skills. This helps to assess a pupil based on his language skills. For example many of the universities conduct their language exams in writing form. In summary a writing exam is a best tool to assess the performance of a student.

In contrast, it is possible to cheat the evaluation system in an writing assessment exam to a certain level if the evaluation is automated. Artificial intelligence is the technology behind automated evaluation of written exams.

Pupils all over the world follows some templates or clues to misguide such systems and obtain greater results. One must also notice that, such automated systems are maturing over time. So it will be difficult for the exam takers to cheat on writing exams.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages in using writing to evaluate a student's performance effectively all of its advantages outweigh its difficulties.