Tertiary education is usually provided in institutions such as universities. Access to such institutions are limited in number and students often need to travel long distances for their education. I am inclined to believe that travel is really not necessary for tertiary studies, and I will analyze that statement throughout this essay.

Nowadays the world of technology is changing at a rapid pace so that the knowledge is easily accessible to everyone. The barriers of accessing ideas have shattered through the advancement in information technology. As a result of this, students can sit in the comforts of their home and learn about things without shedding a drop of sweat. Moreover, avoiding travel to distant universities have an economic angle too. Education is costly and such steps to avoid spending helps students in big time. Thus travel has become optional for attaining knowledge for a student.

Although travelling is expensive and is not an important factor for attaining knowledge, it has some hidden advantages too. When students with different cultures intermingle, the cultural barrier will diminish. In addition to that, such intermixing will help students to empathize with each other. Hence, travelling for tertiary studies can be beneficial for the pupils.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the argument- travel is not that necessary for tertiary studies far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the technology advancement, but also due to economic factors.