Recently, we have witnessed an enormous change in the education sector. Proponents are debating over the way exams and assessments are conducted. Many argue that the old school way of assessment is best and does not require any change. However, others have opposite views stating that other forms of tests will be more effective for the cognitive development of the students. In this article, I will discuss both views before deriving a suitable conclusion.

To begin with, there are numerous benefits of written assessment, first, it is believed that writing skills instill neurological brain development of students. Moreover, to getting certain competitive and lucrative jobs, good writing habits are needed. For instance, for becoming famous news editor or blogger you need expresses your views in writing on the web and social media platforms.

On the other hand, there are profound fundamental advantages of practical tests, like with the help of practical test, students can comprehend subjects better and faster. For example, certain subjects like mechanical and auto-mobile required practical tests for effective assessment. Furthermore, in such fields of studies, only theoretical knowledge will not help students survive employment, wherein they need to showcase their practical abilities.

In conclusion, form the above examples, it is evident that to access students performance, holistic approach is required that is the right mix of written and practical tests so that students not only enjoy their academics but are also future ready.