Do you think formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school ?
The idea of a formal written examination in gauging students performance is a widely debated topic. There is a widespread worry, these exams are inefficient to check the
student's knowledge. In my view, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious consideration.
There are myriad of arguments in favor of my viewpoint. The most conspicuous one is that these exams create unnecessary pressure on students life. Not only students
have to study with the burden of exams, but it also discourages them to have an in-depth understanding of the subject. This will result in students not able to handle future
demands, broaden their horizon and skills required to have success in their career. For example, if Albert Einstein had studied with these undue pressures, he may not have made a
number of innovations as in the scientific field and others.
Another pivotal aspect of the argument is that these exams have repeated questions and patterns, so anyone with access to past year papers will be able to score well.
It allows mediocre students to score as well as the prodigy one. It means that these exams do not check students skill and analytics but checks how well one can memorize. Hence
it is apparent these stereotyped exams have flaws in calculating students performance and knowledge.
In view of the arguments above, one can conclude that the flaws in these stereotyped written exams are too dire to ignore. I am inclined to believe that these exams hamper
students to acquire a wealth of knowledge and have success in their life.