Do you think the significance of English language as an interna5onal language
will be lost with globaliza5on or its significance will increase with globaliza5on?
What is your opinion?
The contemporary age is no stranger to the concept of globaliza5on. In par4cular, recent years
have witnessed a surge in the popularity of English as a global language. Some people claim that
the English language will be lost as humans are going to live in a global village while others hold
true the opinion that English will thrive thanks to globaliza5on. Both of these views will be
inves4gated below and then a sound conclusion based on personal experience will be drawn.
On the one hand, the proponents provide some tenable reasons. First and foremost, they assume
that the interac5on between people from different languages and diverse cultural background
will inevitably increase. To illustrate, they believe people who have the ability to speak English
can communicate effec5vely with people of other countries. Another argument put forth by
these individuals is English is the language of science, technology, commerce, media,
entertainment, etc. To shed more light on the issue, one of my rela4ves who is a linguis5c expert
said that without English language human knowledge was not the chance to grow rapidly.
However, these people are not without their rivals.
On the other hand, the opponents present their own jus4fica4ons saying that with the
domina5on of English other languages will die. To begin with, they presume a na5on’s tradi5ons
and cultures lie in its language. To exemplify, a study carried out at the University of California
revealed that 32 languages disappear or change drama5cally prior to the influx of tourists who
speaks English. In addi4on to the above-men4oned reason, these people believe that English
influence the young genera5ons of other countries around the world. As an instance, North
American singers and celebri5es are the role model of 90% of youngsters around the world and
they try to mimic them by speaking English.
Taking the two views into considera4on, I tend to side with the former group. I do believe that
the English language will flourish and spread rapidly with globaliza5on.