Examinations are the medium of assessing student's ability to comprehend wider range of understanding and knowledge. It is a standardized implementation of testing large number of students by providing same sets of question and checking how they present the required information. They provide great means of judging student's underlying knowledge, but comes with inescapable drawbacks.

Written examinations provide a standardized procedure to verify how student's have assimilated the concepts, making them an ideal choice for testing. Because of standardization, they are widely accepted as an authentic medium of certifying whether students actually gained that understanding or not. They also ensures equality as everyone are tested on the same level of problem by providing same sets of questions. Thereby, whosoever performs well among the group, can actually be considered better than the others.

In contrast, these examinations are eventually testing the learning ability of students, not their real understanding of knowledge. For an instance, student with better learning ability will perform well then others, even when he or she learned that part just before the test, without actually comprehending the real application. Moreover, students suffering from pre-examination stress are real. This is unknowingly hampering the health of so many students on regular basis. Such stress will impact the performance, leading to unexpected outcomes from the examination which may result in damaging self-confidence and can cause detrimental effects on the learning thrive of the students. Unfortunately, such cases if not handled appropriately, can result in several suicide cases which can be easily prevented if system has been more accepting towards other parameters of judgement.

Hence, it can be clearly concluded that written examination provide efficient way of standardized testing at the cost of hampering student's health, introducing inequality and damaging the self-confidence, making search of alternatives - a prime concern.