Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as course work and project is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Education is considered as a panacea for all the life problems which students acquire in various academic levels, and this evaluation of knowledge and understanding is done by various modes to examine student’s performance. However, some advocate formal examination as an appropriate way to assess student’s performance, rather than a constant assessment of work and project. Thus, I utterly agree with this statement.

To begin with, formal examinations play a vital role in making students introspect about themselves whether they are heading towards the right direction on not, and it is the most viable method for evaluating student's performance on account of plethora reasons. Firstly, formal examinations are the best yardstick to determine someone's ability with complete accuracy, because in exams those who work hard and have some knowledge can only get success. On top of that, there cannot be an issue of copying or any kind of fraud owing to strictness and monitoring which are adopted during such exams. For instance, It has been seen that only a few people show their competency in formal examination, as a result, they become successful due to their hard work and knowledge, which is tested in such examinations.

Meanwhile, projects and assessments always remain dubious as compare to examinations due to myriad reasons. Firstly, work assignments that are submitted by students may have the probability that the content of such assignments can be copied from somewhere else, than the student's own knowledge. Notably, projects and assignments are not prepared under proper monitoring and strictness, and here one can doubt the credibility of student's capability because students can take the assistance of other people in carrying out such projects and works.

In conclusion, I opine that there should be an accurate and precise way of evaluating student's abilities and here formal examinations are the best way.