Gerontologist claim that they can increase human life to 500 years in a few decades. Do you think it would have a positive impact or a negative impact on human society? Share your views with necessary observations.

Throughout history, mankind has made significant advances in the field of medicine resulting in a significant increase in life expectancy. Now, gerontologists claim that lifespan of humans would increase to 500 years in a matter of a few decades. Some people are of the opinion that this would result in a positive impact on human society whereas other hold contrary views. This essay will discuss why increasing human life to 500 years will have greater demerits.

Firstly, human bodies are designed to function for about a century and not beyond. Synthetically modified bodies may be able to survive for five times that number, but it would be with its own set of troubles and problems. For instance, genetically modified bodies may require a significant amount of money for keeping the organs including the skin functioning. Thus, it may be a costly affair to be able to sustain our bodies for that long.

Additionally, living for 500 years may strain on our natural resources. With increasing population and increased life expectancy, the demand for even the basic resources such as food, clothing and shelter may become difficult to satiate. For instance, if an average person lives for 500 years instead of 100 years, the demand for jobs would increase fivefold. Thus, it is clear that this disproportionate increase in demand would create an ecological imbalance.

To conclude, this essay discussed how increasing life to 500 years would create an imbalance in nature and drain on a huge amount of money. In my opinion, it is imperative that resources and efforts should instead be directed towards the welfare of the underprivileged.