Urban sprawl is an increasing issue around the world. One way in which to solve this issue is to construct cities vertically rather than horizontally. Are such cities a good idea?

Expanding urban cities is a pressing global issue and a matter of deep concern all over the world. One way to approach the problem is to build urban cities vertically rather than horizontally. This essay will discuss why such vertical expansion of cities is a good alternative along with suitable examples and observations.

Firstly, with an increase in the number of skyscrapers and high-rise buildings, more housing can be provided to the population within the city limits rather than the need to go to suburbs. At the same time, it would free many spaces, and community parks and gardens can come up in these places. For instance, in many developing countries, cities have expanded much beyond the defined city limits to house the expanding population. This had led to some other ancillary problems such as congestion and lack of housing facilities.

In addition to this, vertical expansion of cities in the form of taller buildings would also help people find accommodation nearer to the main city rather than settling in downtown areas. It would also help in reducing commute time to and fro from work and provide more time for leisure and overall well-being. For example, in my city due to the shortage of affordable housing within city limits, people live in suburbs and spend around three to four hours travelling to and fro from the office each day. Thus, this problem would be addressed with vertical expansion of cities.

To conclude, this essay discussed how the vertical expansion of cities helps in solving the problem of congestion and at the same time reduce travel time for working people. In my opinion, it is imperative for governments to take cognisance of this fact to ensure a better standard of living for its population.