One of the major problem faced by the world is the expansion of the urban cities. The recent phenomena in the urbanization has attracted numerous controversies. On one side stands a perspective that cities shall be built vertically rather than horizontally in order to accommodate more number of people in the defined boundaries. This essay will discuss why it is a good idea to build cities vertically.

Ever increasing population has posed a major challenge to the limit to which the cities can be expanded and building high rise apartments is an immediate remedy of this problem. Expanding the cities vertically would prevent exploitation of the nature because today a number of forests are being cut and acres of agriculture farm is being used to build the housing society, business complexes etc. A planned construction in a specified boundary would reduce the deforestation.

The idea of horizontal expansion poses further challenges to the cost of construction as the raw material needs to be transported from factories to the urban construction cities. Also, horizontal expansion leaves little space to build public infrastructures such as roads connecting cities and villages. This is another reason why we should focus on building vertical cities.

In conclusion, as the population continues to climb up we need to build taller cities. This essay discussed how vertical cities can solve the environmental problems and results in better public infrastructure. Clearly, building vertical cities is a smart move.