For a considerable period of time the question on reducing the government investment in arts and music has been a favorite subject of discussion among many intellectuals who are mostly divided based on their opinion. On one side stands the perspective that spending on arts and music shall be curtailed while the other side blatantly denies any such kind of measure.

This essay will discuss why cutting down on the budget of arts and music is the need of the hour.

The first reason to ramp down the investment in this sector is the reduced demand of the artistic skills. Due to increase in the popularity of the technology, music and art are not considered as the core subject to study. Not much of the arts and musical skills rather technologies are used for creation of most of the music and arts in the modern world. It has caused a increase demand for technology and thus more number of people are inclined to study technology than arts and painting. Hence shifting the investment to the technological sector has more benefits for the society.

Also, lack of jobs in the field of arts has lead many people to give up on their skills and learn the skills which can fetch them an employment. People are recording the music or painting the canvas only in their leisure time. Needless to say art is not fetching the same attention it used to fetch once. A continuous drop in the number of visitors to an art museum is a recent proof to demonstrate the lost interest in arts. Government should not be expected to bear the maintenance cost of the art museums.

In conclusion, the government need to carefully decide whether they can afford to keep investing a huge amount of money in the area of arts and science.