Education is the key to success and higher education has proven to be a mean to get the better jobs. While some people believe that purpose of the higher education is to prepare the students for the employment others think that higher education is a crucial phase in the life of students where they learns advanced skills. This essay discuss how the higher education is being abused and has become employment centric.

Many students of the modern world are opting for the higher education with the intent of begging a well paid job at the end of the course. Many of them opt to study any subjects irrespective of their area of interest. This is leading to a rat race situation and many students are rushing to study in the field which fetches them a highly paid job. For example, many students in India take admission in wide range of courses in Indian and foreign universities without having any background in the chosen specialization.

A good job after completing the higher education has convinced us to go for master degrees. It beats the entire purpose of the higher education and create a system of rat race. Universities and colleges are focusing on placing the students in good companies rather than giving them the quality education. Infact, some universities even bribe the recruitment teams to provide jobs to the students.

Higher education help us to learn the advance skills enable us to build in depth understanding of the subjects. Not only it remunerate the students by making them eligible for better employment but also enrich their knowledge and skills. Hence higher education shall be used with the intent of learning and not just by focusing on future employment.