Urban sprawl is an increasing issue around the world. One way in which to solve this issue is to construct cities vertically rather than horizontally. Are such cities a good idea?

It is irrefutable to say that, high rise buildings are very famous these days and every country is focusing to build high rise apartments rather than landed houses. Some people believe that urban sprawl is creating problems and only vertical buildings can solve this issue. This essay will succinctly discuss the problems of spreaded horizontal houses and its solution in vertical tall buildings.

Firstly, The sprawl housing needs a lot of land area to develop because each house can be miximum two story which accommodate one family. Another big problem with landed house societies is that, you have to travel more to reach from one place to another. For example, If one house is in street number one and other house is in a street far from one, then one needs to walk or drive by car to reach there. This problem does not exists in high rise housing which has different floors.

On the other hand, a multi story building can adjust more houses on a small land area which is more convenient as compared to sprawl. Furthermore, all the markets and shopping centers can be easily accessible at short distance for each of the occupant living in high rise building houses. For example, If you want to move from one floor to another you can use lifts to move and change floor quickly. Horizontal buildings are solving the housing issues in urban areas and more poppulation can be adjusted in a small city.

To recapitulate, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that we can solve the accommodation problem in urban cities by building multi story high rise apartments. In my opinion building such vertical cities is a good idea for the future planning.