With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

Technology have revoloutionised many things in modern time including use of library. Going to library has significantly reduced in current time due to the availability of text material online therefore universities should focus on stocking digital materials rather than books. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of digitilisation.

On the one hand, digitilsation has made life of students much easier. As everything is available online, students, no more require to go library specially to get study material on any subject. For instance, while working on assignments during graduate studies, students are able to get enough material online. Hence, use of digital media is more beneficial for students rather than going to library.

On the other hand, with the large amount of material availability online, the authenticity of online material is questionable. These days there are many users online who have their blogs online which may have many inaccurate facts making the data controversial. For example, people can easily change data in wikipedia without any verification from source. Thus, student who get data from such sites may have wrong information.

In conclusion, digitilisation has life easier for students but also the content of data may be incorrect. In my opinion, digitilisation have made the availability of material accessible to everybody but at the same time information there might be false too.