Some people point that experiential learning (i.e. learning by doing it) can work well in formal education. However, others think a traditional form of teaching is the best. Do you think experiential learning can work well in high schools or colleges?

Many schools have changed the way of teaching recently and they focus on the practical work more than theoretical. Some people believe that this method is better than the conventional style of education while others disagree with them. This essay will discuss how this new method is more effective than the previous method.

To begin with, the children tend to remember things better when they experience it rather than just studying in the books. It stays in their memory for a longer time as it involves visual information rather than imaginative information only. For instance, I understood better how PEPSI is produced when we were taken to a field trip to its factory whereas while studying I was not clear about certain things. Thus, learning by experience have better results.

Secondly, the formal education is not helpful in personality development. It may help in getting a certain degree but it can not polish the individual skills such as leadership or critical thinking unless he is involved in other learning activities. For example, a person involved in extracurricular activities is more likely to improve his individual skills than a person who focuses on the formal education only, also he will be better equipped to deal with the situation once he enters practical life. Therefore, experiential learning should be preferred.

In conclusion, with the experiential learning, children can remember things for a longer time and at the same time enhance their personal skills. In my opinion, the method of experiential learning should be adopted in schools and colleges.