Some people point that experiential learning (i.e. learning by doing it) can work well in formal education. However, others think a traditional form of teaching is the best. Do you think experiential learning CAN WORK WELL in high schools or colleges?

The importance of experiential learning, which frequently generated a great deal of heated debate, has recently become even more controversial. Some proponents maintain that experiential learning can work well in formal education while others believe that a traditional form of teaching is the best. This essay will elaborate on how experiential learning is significant and how conventional teaching methods are necessary and thus will give a reasoned opinion.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons why experiential learning is fit in colleges and high schools along with the classroom lessons but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that most students handing on experience in what they learn are excited and enthusiastic. Obviously, they can understand the phenomenon which they are taught by observing how it works. For example, it is easier to grasp a chemical reaction by seeing rather than try to understand a chemical expression. Thus, experience gives students more impression on what they study at school.

Moving on to consider the opposite argument put forward by critics, some people believe that theoretical lessons are adequate in education. Of course, theories are so important because the idea was derived based on an enormous number of interesting experiments. For instance, general relativity is vital to get a perception of our universe. However, a theoretical statement is difficult to be illustrated and conveyed to learners. Therefore, it is essential for students to practice what they perceive.

In conclusion, taking these points into consideration, from my personal perspective, I am inclined to believe that there should be a balance between practice and theory in order for students to have a complete understanding of what they learn.