With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

The influence of media digital online which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The significant influence of contents in libraries are becoming obsolete has sparked the controversy over this trend on the internet is more used for people than libraries in recent years. it can be agreed that in different perspectives there are advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, this essay will elaborate on showing the positive sides of this and illustrating the negative causes and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why universities are given a mix of materials which is digital and textbooks, but the most conspicuous one steams from the advantage that nowadays many students prefer to use their smartphone instead of a physical book due the weight or because of the mobility. As an illustration, a University of Adelaide study shown that 85% of their graduate student confess that used more digital material than textbooks. However, the campus statistics presented that the library always was busy during the semester.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks which might overwhelm the disadvantage of textbooks and their use, but the most alarming one is rooted from the fact that universities are providing many ways to access the internet, for this reason, is much easier have digital materials rather physics books. For instance, using a simple smartphone a person can carry hundreds of books everywhere. Hence, mobility and practical use turned this trend in evidence.

In my opinion, those facts presented are solids and based in real studies for big companies and universities, between this and that I agree with these facts.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the importance of digital materials is distinguished, although books should not be overlooked.