International travel and tourism makes people prejudiced rather than broad-minded. What are its causes and what measures can be taken to solve this problem

Some individuals believed that visiting and exploring other nations worldwide has made them judgmental instead of being open-minded. This is probably due to reason such as not treated well and culture shock. However, this situation can be mitigated by appreciating other nation’s culture and demonstrating respect.

To begin with, traveling can be an awesome experience to many. Yet, this instance can also be traumatizing for some people who have been given unfair treatment. One can possibly encounter locals in several cities with unreasonable attitude when confronted. Furthermore, culture shock can also be blamed for the peculiar feeling of staying abroad as they are not used to their society and practices. To illustrate, Chinese old women in Hong Kong are usually showing an unfavorable mood when asked with directions.

On the other hand, this predicament can be solved through widening one’s perspective. Tourists should be doing their research once and for all before visiting desired international destination. Apart from this, respect is also necessary for other countries’ customs and tradition, considering as a primary tool in understanding their citizens. For example, the do’s and don’t of visiting Japan is vital to learning and appreciating the place regardless of race and ethnicity.

To recapitulate, travelers felt stressful sometimes especially when they have experienced unjust treatment and rude behavior from the local people abroad. But it can be avoided through understanding their way of life. Perhaps, any person would ultimately desire to enjoy and appreciate new atmosphere while having their global tour.