It is important that maintain and protect the beautiful building in the past, even if it is expensive for owners to do so.” what do you think of this statement? Give reasons and examples on your own experience.

Beautiful architectures and monuments often add to the appearance of the city and improve its aesthetic value. Further, if the site has some significant historic event associated with it then it becomes further imperative to preserve such a landmark. However, it is often observed that time takes its toll on any artefact and this is particularly true with buildings which are often subjected to all moods of the weather. Lives of such important structures can be increased and even the action of natural elements revered if timely repairs and reconstructions are undertaken as soon as the need arises. In my opinion, such beautiful structures that are a part of the city’s heritage should be preserved in order to allow the new generations to connect with the city’s cultural past.

The repairs and preservation come at a cost which grows exponentially year over year. The real question that we need to ask is, who should bear this ever increasing price? Firstly, whatever is good for the society, such as the monuments in question, should be taken care by the people or their representatives. Who represents the people of a particular place better than its elected government? Therefore, the government should direct funds aimed specifically at preserving and uplifting the state of these beautiful historical structures. Secondly, if the building already forms a part of some private property, then the government should direct the funds to the owner of the same. Further, in order to prevent misuse of the funds, the government should appoint a committee to oversee the appropriation of the funds.

In conclusion, the beautiful historical buildings must be preserved in order to safeguard the cultural heritage of our cities and the cost associated with repairs and preservation should come from the government.