Credence to the old adage that beckons us to adapt the practices of the Romans whilst in one is in Rome, I believe that society should indeed accept the cultures of whatever country they tour and uphold its practices. In this essay I will discuss why in my opinion, learning the native language of certain regions is an important factor contributing to learning its culture.

Firstly, society should respect whatever practices they got to learn about while touring various lands. Presently as cultures are beginning to merge due to external influences, it is becoming increasingly hard to preserve and maintain a nation’s customs particularly among the younger generation. For instance, nations that serve as tourist destinations are slowly losing their native speech as they interact with the tourists. Especially the younger generation, they perceive it a cool factor to be able to converse in that foreign language thus adapting it as a second language in that area at the expense of their own mother tongue. Consequently, to aid in preserving the customs of a specific community, I think that people should aim to respect and immerse themselves into foreign culture when in that land.

Secondly, learning the language of a particular culture promotes understanding and makes conversing easier. Evidently, there are a plethora of languages from various countries around the world, and in several countries more than one exists. To be able to communicate and connect with natives from a certain area, one needs to acquire the knowledge of their language.

Lastly, acquiring knowledge of an alternative language opens the gates to other aspects of their culture such as their history, traditions and spirituality that would not otherwise have been possible. Language is the fundamental part of one’s cultural identity, as from the past it was easy to identify the background of a person based on their speech, that is, their belief system, the history of their nationality and their customs.

In conclusion, I think that society should respect and take on the practices of certain nations and that includes their speech, as it aids in preserving the culture of that community as well as makes it easier to communicate with its locals.