It is often said that “when in Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they are visiting? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

It is frequently believed that when a person would visit Rome, they should also mimic the way Romans do. I partially agree that tourist people should learn the culture of the foreign land they will visit due to the fact that they would only stay there for a short period of time, also it is impossible to learn a language without learning the culture because it is fundamental part of itself.

To begin with, cultural adaptation takes time. If a person will be visiting a particular place, one cannot easily learn their culture. It is a vast characteristic of the society that is learnt through experience and interaction to the locals. The acceptance of culture is not that difficult as it may seem to be the natural behavior and as a sign of respect. For example, while visiting India with rich religious traditions will be supported by the tourist in their quest for prayers and temple rituals.

Moreover, it not feasible to know one's culture when not firstly learning their language. This is due to the fact that the vital element of culture is language and everything else follows such as beliefs and philosophy. A person cannot be able to understand another country's way of life if he cannot interact with the natives and will be left alien to a foreign territory. To illustrate this, in a recent study conducted by Oxford University that 32% of foreign visitors tend to get lost and went home earlier than expected because of language barrier.

In conclusion, a traveler should make it a point to open their minds in embracing other country's heritage and tradition. Although they cannot quickly adapt it overnight, they should still study their language to have at least a glimpse of their entire culture and therefore can happily enjoy the land.