Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Innumerable individuals believe that the administration should allocate more funds on fixing roads and freeways but others suggest the budget should focus on developing public vehicles. In my perspective, it is the duty of the government to ensure the public’s safety by improving public transport. This essay will discuss my justification for the stated reason.

To begin with, when larger portion of financial resources are allotted for augmenting public utilities it would be more patronize by the citizens. It will now be their medium to go from one place to another in a lesser dependence on private cars because this has resulted to road congestion. To illustrate, bullet trains in Japan were able to lessen traffic in urban areas on a daily basis.

Moreover, the choice for concentrating further on government budget into transportation vehicles could ease the burden of difficulties every passenger is experiencing every time pollution up fronts him. With the use of advance technology incorporated into vehicles can be able to provide people convenience, comfort and much safety. For example, all public transport in the US are all air-conditioned and is designed to be energy efficient generating reduced carbon emissions.

To recapitulate, the government should take into account the paramount importance of improving the populace’s transportation as it will give them more advantage than developing the roads. Indeed, it is the proper management of funds of the state to accommodate the needs of its citizens.