The rising level of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse the decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more.

State your opinion and support it with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The increasing levels of traffic and atmospheric pollution as observed in majority of global cities is largely contributed by the growth of ownership of private vehicles. However, many individuals suggest that the way to solve these problems is to convince people to reduce car dependence by utilizing non-private transportation. In my perspective, I completely support with the latter argument due to protection of the environment and to become more healthy. This essay will discuss my justifications for the stated reasons.

To begin with, road congestion and pollution issues are intensified by the use of private vehicles. Cars are powered by engines which emits obnoxious gases in the atmosphere. This is usually been hailed as one of the culprit of damaging the environment. Individuals can help save the Earth by a simple means of reducing dependence on their cars. Whatever their reasons are, they must take into account the deteriorating effects of inconsiderate use of their vehicles especially on its carbon dioxide emissions. Therefore, the solution to this is to find an alternative means of transport like commuting or biking.

Apart from this, city life can be less desired for due to its effects on human health. If working people are used to walking in the streets without any personal protection, they can inhale too much unwanted gases generated from vehicles. This may literally affect their wellness as it will go deep into their lungs causing them sickness. In the worst part, chronic diseases can be acquired for prolong exposure on polluted air. To mitigate this issue, one has to consider becoming a passenger and utilizing public utilities such as buses or trains instead of using one's own car.

To recapitulate, the advantage of utilizing more the general transportations any nation has outweighs the use of private vehicles.