Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops in cities and towns. In your own experience, is it a positive development?

There has been a never-ending debate on whether the replacement of small local shops by large shopping complexes is a positive change. In my experience, this phenomena has both negative and positive aspects. This essay will discuss why replacing small shops with big malls bears bad as well as good prospects.

To begin with, local shops are the source of employment for local people. However, with the establishment of big malls in local area, people running tiny outlets tend to loose their jobs. The report published by a national newspaper states that, in the area where local retail stores were supplanted by big shopping centers, almost all people who used to run small stores are now unemployed. This shows that the change we have witnessed is a negative change.

Looking at the other side, big shopping malls are the stores where one can purchase a good by selecting from a large variety. In my personal experience, i find it less time consuming and effortless to buy commodities in a big outlet. A recent survey conducted by the association of merchants shows that people prefer to enter a mall to buy goods since they find it easy. This should be taken as a positive change.

In a nutshell, in my perception, while there are positive consequences of superseding small shops by large malls, negative consequences it has brought should not be overlooked.