Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

A consumerism trend is growing drastically, and popularity of shopping malls is increasing because of ample of convenient and comfortable reasons. Some people believe that this boosting fever of shopping mall ruining the sales of small retailers in the open market while others argue that shopping malls are advance great development. This essay will give assertion on both sides of the contention before delivering plausible conclusion.

To begin, these giant malls offer various kinds of shops at one place. Due to which, people can easily purchase things under one roof. These shopping malls are monitored by security guards; hence visitors feel comfortable when they walk around the malls. For example, security cameras are placed at different angles and at different locations for tight surveillance.

On the other hand, these shopping malls have some drawbacks also. These days more and more people choose to go to large shopping malls, due to which the sales of small shops are going down. As a consequence, many of these shops owners have to close their business or have to reduce the number of employees. In addition, heavy discounts are offered by malls in festival seasons which also gravitate more buyers and divert their attention from traditional and small shops. For instance, around 50% discounts are given to customers during Christmas time. Thus, people mostly prefer to buy things from malls not from local shops.

To recapitulate, I personally believe that, the existence of shopping malls will boost the economic growth of the city. But, many people still depend on small shops for their livelihood. So, it is the government task to make some strict regulations about this issue.