Many people complain that they don’t get personal time because of work. How widespread is this view? What are the negative effects of it?

It is irrefutable to say that; these days jobs are becoming slave masters. People are spending a mammoth part of their day in their offices to meet the cut-throat competition and neglecting their personal and family life. Considering this, some analyst opine that this trend is good for our society, while others argue opposite to it. The following paragraphs will analyse the inevitable reasons, and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

Firstly, due to globalization, employees are facing competition all around the world, which instigate them to give their best. Secondly, companies are creating project deadlines too small which eventually pressurize employees to deliver their work in a short time. For example, multinational companies for their own profit put more pressure on their employee.

On the other hand, long working hours could affect person’s health and personal relations. To exemplify, American Health Associates (AHA), finds that grey matter of software engineers who sit in front of computers for longer than 11 hours daily decreases and causes memory related problems. Furthermore, when people spend long hours in the office, they get a little time to spend with their dear ones, because of it, children are deprived of the attention they deserve from their parents.

To recapitulate, proper work-life balance is essential to lead a contented life. It is hoped that, companies arrange their working hours in such a way that employees also get some time for themselves.