For a successful company, does selling products depend more on the company’s reputation or if they provide discount and free offers? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is conspicuous that, shopping culture has been changed from the last one decade. More and more companies these days offering lucrative deals to gravitate more customers toward themselves. Considering this, some people believe that offering discounts by companies decrease company's brand value, while others opine it helps to increase organization’s revenue. This essay will give assertion on both sides of the contention before delivering plausible conclusion.

To begin, people who claim discounting degrades brand value claim that, the profit margin in the stores will decline as the goods are sold at reduced prices. Sometimes, these prices may even be below than market value. Furthermore, giving discounts to customers may encourage them to ask for it all the time and if the marketer does not give a best deal, they may get discouraged and look at other places for the same.

On the other hand, offering discounts increases the customer base of the organizations. People prefer to do more shopping during a sale, discounts encourage people to spend more. Moreover, many businesses have monthly, quarterly or yearly sales goals. For instance, if a business is in danger of missing these goals, offering discounts can help the business to meet their sales figures.

To sum up, I would like to say, although discounts decreases the margin of the company, but it helps customers to buy branded things at reasonable price. Thus, giving discounts do not decrease brand value of the company but increase customer base.