In most education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think this is a good idea? Give your reasons.

Education is a very important part of our lives. Thousands of parents around the world send their children to the best schools so that they can get the best knowledge. A child’s intelligence is assessed based on the written tests in schools. But its validity still remains a question to a few. This essay will discuss the same.

Firstly, Written tests are held in practically all the educational institutes around the world. The marks attained in these exams prove the student’s intelligence. The questions asked in these tests are based on what is taught in class. This helps the teacher to know the grasping skills, knowledge, memory and the writing skills of the students. Furthermore, the teacher also knows the students who are weak in studies and thus can give extra attention to them. Remedial classes can also be held for these children.

Secondly, many parents help their children in assignments and homework that is given by the teachers to be completed at home. Children who find difficulties in answering the questions either take help from parents or copy it from their classmates. This doesn’t help them in learning the subject.

To conclude, written formal examinations are by far the best way to help the students, parents and teachers to know the student’s shortcomings and hence help them improve in the same. Hence, I am convinced that written examinations should be held in institutions until a better method to evaluate the student’s intelligence and learning skills is discovered.