Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion on this? Do you think this is a good or bad change?

Of late, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see prodigies debating the large shopping malls around the country replacing the small shops. it can be said that big shops offer variety of benefits to the customer, while on the other hand stands a perspective that they are a challenge to local merchants run out of their business. this essay will elaborate on both sides and will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why shopping malls are a benefit to the society and the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that they provide cheap prices and convenience to the consumers. As an illustration, Westfield is an Australian shopping mall which has the collection of restaurants, apparels, grocery stores and even include children play area under single roof. this is an enormous advantage for the families who need to purchase different items. Therefore, one of the major factors for the success of such shopping malls is the convenience that they provide to the shoppers.

Nevertheless, some people hold an opposing view and tend to believe that spread of malls have a detrimental effect on local economy because of the competition emerged in the market. For this reason, few are opposing the changes brought by this new development.

In light of discussion above, it can be concluded that the impact created by the chain of merchandise and shops are prominent, although the side effects on local community cannot be overlooked.