Large shopping malls are superseding small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

With time large shopping malls are popping up in tier two and tier three cities. Many people think that these large shopping malls will replace and supersede small shops, while some don't agree with this view. In this essay, we will discuss and analyze why small shops will never be replaced by large shopping malls. Small shops have their own place in the ecosystem.

Firstly, in small shops the relationship between the owner and customer is more than just transactions. There is a personal touch. For example if somebody goes to a nearby small shop to buy something, they not just buy and come back. People talk to each other, discuss the weather, discuss current affairs, ask about each other's welfare. All these interactions are missing in big malls. The human interaction is least thus no personal touch. Even when somebody goes to a small shop, the shopkeeper is well aware of their customer's needs and choices.

Secondly, the shopping malls need bigger spaces to operate. So, they can't be opened in any corner. For example, people generally plan before going to malls which is generally once a week because they are far away. While small shops are available in every nook and corner. Mostly they are nearer to houses. If somebody needs something on an urgent basis, instead of going to a mall people prefer going to small shops. In small shops, the waiting period is very low and queues are small.

The essay discussed the reasons why small shops will never be replaced by large shopping malls. In my opinion small shops are here to stay because of the experience users get in the shops. It is suggested that small shops have to evolve with time with better discounts and more collection of commodities.