The effect of changing human habits through laws, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of lawful penalties has sparked the controversial over the potential impact of this trend on human behaviour in recent years. It can be agreed that implementing laws has some positive impacts, but some people claim that it has some negative impacts as well. This essay will elaborate how law can change people conduct and when this is not possible and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why strict laws should be used in order to change human habits, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that laws develop a sense of social responsibility through punishment, forcing people to act within the law. For instance, traffic rules act as a control of massive traffic and penalize people who disobey them, making changes in future people's actions while driving. Implementing regulations and punishments, therefore, can play a vital role for changing human habits.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of human conduct and habits cannot be judged by any law. As an illustration, despite legal consequences some thieves continue stealing or breaking the law. Laws, hence, are unlikely to change human behaviour.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of law on human habits is prominent, although it has some drawbacks that should be well handled.