Law can change human behavior. Do you agree or not?

In this day and age, there is an ongoing debate among people about whether a law could change human behavior or not. While there are conclusively valid arguments to claim that human nature is immutable, I am highly inclined to believe that legislations play a vital role in the development of society. Providing solid academic evidence, I will analyse both sides and draw a rational conclusion.

To begin with, critics argue that law can only give direction to individuals, which cannot affect a person's habit. For instance, according to a study undertaken at Harvard University, in spite of imposing strict laws on drunk driving for several decades, the crime rate has not yet become lower. Although the absence of legislation can create chaos in society, the ever-increasing statistics indicate that it is not an effective tool for reform. Thus, there is tangible evidence why such an opinion has not garnered support.

Furthermore, it should be mentioned that if proper legislations were introduced in a country, it would be kept in order and harmony. From my experience, the results of an experiment conducted by Melbourne University revealed that not only restrictions help in public awareness, but they may also act as a deterrent to would-be offenders. Those who were aware of hefty fines in case of not acting in accordance with rules, were twice less likely to be involved in a crime. Hence, scientific research strongly supports the hypothesis that law is inextricably intertwined with the safety of other citizens.

In a nutshell, despite several compelling arguments on both sides, my sentiment is that the privileges of rules and regulations outweigh its flaws substantially. I think the authorities should take immediate measures to enforce a stricter law on different illegal activities.