Parents are responsible for the behavior of the children. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about whether parents should be held accountable for their children’s behavior. While there are conclusively valid arguments to claim that the high rate of offenses stems from mass media as well as educational deprivation, I am highly inclined to agree that parents should stand accused of offspring who turn to crime. Providing solid academic evidence, I will discuss both sides and draw a rational conclusion.

To begin with, critics argue that should proper schooling be provided for the youth, fewer teenagers will tend to be aggressive which breeds an epidemic of petty crime. Besides, the advent of violent games acts as a deterrent to adolescents. According to a study undertaken at Tehran University, youngsters exposed to bloodthirsty scenes were twice more likely to indulge in crime. Statistics also show that although children’s lifestyle is not always the same, offenses are rampant in those families with limited scope for education. Thus, there is tangible evidence that literacy plays a crucial role in the crime rate.

Furthermore, it should be mentioned that parents start shaping the child's moral compass from early ages. Therefore, if parents do not allocate sufficient time to their child, she will feel a deep resentment against the parent which may give rise to crimes. Moreover, the results of an experiment conducted by Childcare Institution revealed that not only violence in parents but also showing favoritism towards children are inextricably intertwined with increasing rate of juvenile delinquency. Hence, scientific research supports the hypothesis that troubled childhood is the principal reason for involvement in a crime.

In a nutshell, despite several compelling arguments on both sides, my sentiment is that poor upbringing leads to a tidal wave of crime. I think the authorities should take immediate measures to break the cycle of offense.