Dangerous activities like extreme skiing, bungee jumping etc. and whether you support them or not.

In this day and age, there is an ongoing debate among people about dangerous sports. While there are conclusively valid arguments to claim that these kinds of sports help people to become more self-confident, I am highly inclined to believe that those who are exposed to stressful situations may suffer from mental problems. Providing solid academic evidence, I will discuss both sides of the argument and draw a rational conclusion.

To begin, advocates consider the adventurous sports as a chance to get away from the monotony of everyday life as well as making economic profits, since these sports including scuba diving, bungee jumping, etc. have become lucrative sports during the last decades. According to a study undertaken at Tehran University, although strenuous exercise can improve the chances of serious injuries, facing up the challenges reduce the depression rate among athletes. Thus, there is tangible evidence that taking risky sports is more beneficial.

Furthermore, it should be mentioned that risk-taking sports are life-threatening and the sportsman may sustain permanent injuries. Take a victim as an example. Living with disabilities can reduce confidence while breeding some difficulties in life. Moreover, these sports are costly, and not all people can afford it. Regarding the results of an experiment conducted by Melbourne University, it was revealed that despite universal interest in exciting experiences, not only does the workout cost too much, but it also disturbs body which could be irremediable. Hence, scientific research strongly refutes the hypothesis that dangerous activities are intertwined with positive mental features.

In a nutshell, although there are several compelling arguments on both sides, my sentiment is that the flaws of these kinds of sports outweigh its privileges substantially. I think the authorities should take immediate measures to break the cycle of getting involved in harmful activities.