In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? (Give your reasons.)

In this day and age, there is an ongoing debate among people about the importance of assessment through written examinations compared with oral exams. While there are conclusively long-running disputes over the bright sides of continual assessment, I personally highly inclined to believe that traditional assignment is a more efficient method of evaluation. Providing solid academic evidence, I will weigh up its pros and cons before a rational conclusion can be drawn.

To begin with, critics argue that taking written exams are inextricably intertwined with stress, which means it might breed both cheating and health problems. For instance, according to a study undertaken at Harvard University, although struggling with writing can lead to a fair and precise outcome, the pressure of examination gives rise to health disorders. Those who are studying in a school under restricted time, are twice more likely to suffer from heart attacks in future life and feel depressed. Thus, there is tangible evidence why such an opinion has garnered support.

Furthermore, it should be mentioned that if teachers set an oral exam, students' outcome will depend on different factors such as atmosphere, and will not test the ability but the confidence of students. From my experience, the result of an experiment conducted by Melbourne University revealed that not only do educational institutes provide learners with equal opportunities, but they also check profound pupils as it may cover the scope of the subject adequately. Hence, scientific research strongly refutes the hypothesis that formal examinations show students of a higher caliber.

In a nutshell, despite several compelling arguments on both sides, my sentiment is that the privileges of written courses outweigh its flaws substantially. I think the local authorities should take immediate measure and make a more concerted effort to apply a more beneficial assessment style.