In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? (Give your reasons.)

Recently, written examinations have sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question “is it advantageous or not?” Whereas it is a widely held view that formal assessments are highly beneficial, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the educational standpoint, written exams are bound up inextricably with education systems, which indicates they lead to both students and teachers. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2014 demonstrates the relationship between formal education and distant learning as well as an exponential increase in scores. Their academic criticism was impressive. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented thus far supports the contention that the likelihood of good results is correlated positively with not only formal assessments but also training systems.

Within the realm of psychological science, without the slightest doubt, formal examinations attribute to performance appraisal, in that it would come down to stress, anxiety, and depression. A salient example of such attribution is cheating, which is a cause for concern since it was mistaken to take academic achievements for granted. Had there been a paradigm shift earlier, scholars might have had the opportunity to pinpoint psychological problems. Likewise, hardly had they confined their attention to academic background, systematic training, and even curriculum reform. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the pivotal role of education systems.

To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes “all’s well that ends well,” after analyzing what elaborated above, I firmly believe that the advantages of written exams are of more significance. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research, the further we discover.