In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? (Give your reasons.)

Formal examinations have become a controversial issue among the public all around the world. Although this topic is regarded by a considerable number of inhabitants as thoroughly both constructive and positive, others hold opponents' view. I am inclined to profoundly believe that it is entirely beneficial as it could develop brilliant aspects for its adherents.

There are several reasons why taking formal exams is advantageous. First and foremost, this type of assessing plays a pivotal role in the youths' education. For instance, if they do not evaluate frequently, some of them will get away from their curriculum education and it needs to some extracurricular activities. Furthermore, not only does this assessment style provide equal opportunity for analyzing themselves but also it tests the pupils' abilities in difficult circumstances. From my own experience, when I was a postgraduate student, I vividly remember being under pressure during exams and this feeling made me bear with some challenges.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that any exam can provide pupils with various catastrophic points. No sooner had students had a hard exam than they had a disgusting feeling which is sometimes relatively hazardous to their health. Namely, there is a significant amount of time is annually spent for preparation before the exams, but the point is in some cases in spite of hard work, some adolescents who are under stress, forget all of the things and cannot achieve the top grades. Hence, the outcomes depend on several factors including the atmosphere of the exam, pupils' health and appropriate mental conditions.

In conclusion, while assessing by formal exam might have some demerits, I strongly believe that their merits outweigh their drawbacks.