Learning foreign languages in primary school in more effective for the students? Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past half-century, the question of whether children should learn foreign languages in primary schools

has generated a great deal of heated debate among linguists and parents. The popular belief seems to be that the

acquisition of foreign languages in middle childhood is more effective. I cannot but agree with this view for educational and psychological reasons and I will analyze that through this essay.

First and foremost, it is a well-established fact that primary school pupils are highly apt to be taught other languages. Simply put, inasmuch as their brain function is noticeably better than adults, they can assimilate

new language skills. In fact, rarely can we see primary school students who find learning a foreign language

problematic.

More significantly, not only young children are highly prone to acquire linguistic skills, but also the process of teaching is far easier than teaching to adults. Evidently, a primary school pupil's brain is like arable land in which

you can grow different crops. Thus, it only makes sense to consider middle childhood the most appropriate period

to learn new languages.

Another compelling argument in support of teaching foreign languages in primary schools could be the fact that

young children can broaden their horizon. Undoubtedly, the acquisition of new languages apart from their mother tongue can expand pupils' outlook in that they will be familiar with other cultures in the world.

Having considered all sides, I conclude that the acquisition of foreign languages in middle childhood is highly

beneficial due to reasons such as being apt to learn, teaching more effectively and broadening pupils' horizon.