Mass media plays a significant role in our life. Some people argue that the violence displayed on TV augments crime in our society and people become more violent after watching violent movies, while others deny that. This essay will discuss the reasons why violence in TV could lead to an increase in crime rate.

To begin with, people tend to believe whatever is shown on TV and movies are real and they try to portray them in real life. People must be aware that the stories and action sequences in movies are not always real. According to a recent study conducted by an eminent university, the number of people who have committed crime based on what they encounter in movies has significantly increased over the years and this leads to increase in the crime rate of the society. Also, the mental state of the people watching violent movies is disturbed and they tend to involve in anti-social activities.

On the other hand, people think that violence in TV and movies does not have an impact on the crime rate. These people are not aware of the consequences of action sequences performed in movies. Moreover, these days, teenagers started to that behave more like the movie stars and they run into serious troubles. This clearly indicates that violence on TV has made a significant deterioration in the quality of life of people.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the various standpoints of how violence portrayed on TV and movies have an impact on society. I completely agree that violence on TV and other mass media can cause people to become criminals.