It is irrefutable and undeniable that people are moving to cities for jobs and a better lifestyle. To avoid the vehicles that are overcrowding in the cities, some people opine that building new roads would mitigate the problem, while others maintain that an advanced transport system should be in place. This essay will discuss why an advanced transport system would be of an advantage in comparison to building new roads.

Firstly, public transport paves the way for the advanced transport system. If public transport provides reliability and punctuality in its services, people would try not to use their private vehicles. For instance, the Singapore public transport system is very efficient and people predominantly use it to save money and reach faster. Also, the traffic on the roads would be significantly reduced as people start using public transport.

Pollution is a major problem in cities and the emissions from the vehicles have been a major contributor to detrimental air quality. Although people think that building a new road would reduce the traffic in the city, they are not aware of the environmental impact of the gases that vehicles release. A longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists clearly indicates that private transport has contributed greatly to air pollution. This clearly indicates that the government must focus on building an advanced transport system rather than constructing new roads.

This essay discussed various reasons why public transport should be promoted instead of building new roads. In my opinion, people should emphasize the government in building an advanced transport system rather than constructing new roads.