It is an irrefutable and undeniable fact that university education must comprise both theoretical and practical training. Some people believe that universities must focus more on practical training, while others opine that theoretical knowledge is equally important as practical knowledge. This essay will discuss why theoretical knowledge is as important as practical training in the student's curriculum.

Firstly, the current era is changing in such a way that students find conventional teaching practices boring and monotonous. This made universities to think about having practical training throughout the course as it would augment the learning process. According to a study conducted by an eminent university, experimental learning has augmented the student's learning ability and their interest in the courses. However, the theoretical knowledge that the students obtain from books should not be compromised in the process of experimental learning.

Moreover, studying the language through theory has a prominent role in understanding the concepts. Without books, the students will not have a complete picture of what they are going to execute in their practical training. For example, only if a student understands the fundamental principle of aviation, he would be able to engineer an aeroplane. Hence, theoretical knowledge is vital in the curriculum of universities.

This essay discussed the various aspects of theoretical and practical knowledge in the university courses. In my opinion, even though experimental learning is good for the students, the theoretical knowledge for these courses should not be marginalised.