Many companies involve employees in decision making policy. Some people think that it is important for the progression of the company. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

These days, it has been a growing trend to see many corporations involving their employees in decision making policy. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There is a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that engaging workers in making decisions would motivate them to work more efficiently. This is because by allowing staff members to be a part of the decision-making process gives them a sense of being an indispensable part of the company. Furthermore, not only could the method provide them greater incentives, but it could also bring out their inside hidden talent for benefit of the company. Needless to say, all these upsides stand the companies in good stead when it comes to loyal and high-productivity employees.

However, there are some pitfalls that can overwhelm the potential benefits of involving workforce in decision making policy. The primary one stems from the fact that this approach might put the company in danger of confidential information leaks. For instance, there are numerous cases in which companies were on the verge of being bankrupt because their essential info was spread to their rivals. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the involvement of staff members in making a decision.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite the drawbacks, the benefits of involvement of employees in a decision-making process are too great to ignore.