Many people devote most of time to job, so they have little time for other aspects of life such as family and leisure activities. How widespread do you think the problem is? What are the problems this could cause?

With the fast-changing development of technology and economy, we are now living in a highly competitive society. Devoting most of time to job has become a heated debate among people, some people claim that this problem is very widespread in graphic design industry. From my point of view, I am in agreement with this opinion. Furthermore, I reckon it may cause parenting problems.

First of all, it is undeniable that devoting most of time to job is widespread in graphic design industry. To be specific, due to the heavy workload and complicated process of graphic design, it often takes a lot of time for designer to create or revise a project, which means designers have to work overtime otherwise they may lose their job. To further support this statement, a latest Oxford research shows that graphic designers in internet companies in Beijing work from 9 am to 9 pm everyday from Monday to Saturday.

Apart from that, it should also be taken into account that devoting most of time to job may cause parenting problems. To illustrate, it is extremely important for children’s mental health to communicate with their parents. But devoting most of time to job means less time to spend on family, thus lack of communication may lead to children’s mental health issue and may cause parenting problems. A report from New York Times shows that parenting problems occur easily to children who have less than 5 hours communication with parent per week.

To put it into a nutshell, a conclusion can be made that devoting most of time to job is widespread in graphic design industry and it may cause parenting problems.