Advertising not only make people buy something they don't need or cannot afford, but also they can convey information to increase their life quality. What's your opinion?

Our society has been witnessing the contradictory views regarding whether advertising is conducive to an individual’s life quality. Some people claim that advertising makes people buy something they don’t need or cannot afford while others disagree. From my observation, the positive influences of advertising outweigh the negative ones.

At the outset, there are multifarious benefits of advertising, and the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that it conveys information of various products to increase customers’ life quality. It can not only offer commercial of kinds of goods but also push entertainment notifications to people, which gives people more choices to spend time and money to make their life more colorful. To further support this statement, the latest research of Oxford reveals that 80% of the population in the UK prefer to explore new information from advertising.

However, there are several pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential merits of advertising. Firstly, the preponderant one is that advertising often exaggerates the quality of products. Secondly, advertising stimulates consuming expenditure which makes customers spend more money. Lastly, according to a report from the New York Times 2018, edition, in the worldwide 65% of advertisements contain fake news or information.

As discussed above, one can conclude advertising has benefited individual’s life quality in numerous ways from offering commercial of kinds of goods, pushing entertainment notifications to people and whatnot. Nevertheless, we cannot oblivious to some likely demerits.