Some students choose university neat where they live and continue stay at home with families, other students choose university away from family, what is the advantages and disadvantages for both sides?

It is generally true that most of students will go to university, whether choosing university near where they live and continue stay at home with families or choosing university away from family has become a heated debate among students and their parents. Some people claim that it is a good idea to choose university away from family while others disagree. From my point of view, I think there are advantages and disadvantages for both sides. My reasons and examples are given below.

First of all, it is undeniable that staying at home with families has a large number of benefits, such as there are no worries for cooking and housework. To be specific, students can have more time to focus on study, they won’t be distracted by daily routine, their families can prepare a lot of things for them. However, they may cannot attain the ability to be independent in such situation.

Apart from that, it also should be taken into account that choosing university away from family can explore one’s ability of independent, which means students will learn how to rent house and pay bills, it will help their in the future. Moreover, go to another city or country will expand one’s horizon. But the drawback of this is one may lose their connection with old friends or may feel lonely sometimes in a strange place.

To put it into a nutshell, there are advantages and disadvantages for both sides, while some students reckon it is more important to stay with families, others want to explore a new experience of life.