Nowadays more and more credit cards are used instead of cash. How realistic is it to have the idea of a cashless society? What are the benefits and shortcomings? Discuss.

Our society has been witnessing the contradictory views regarding whether the reality of cashless society is conducive to the individual’s life. From my observation, the cashless society has come already and the positive influences of that outweigh the negative ones.

At the outset, there are multifarious benefits of the cashless society, and the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that digital payment technology is efficient and convenient, which can not only let customer finalize payment with just one tap by credit card but also allow individual to transfer money to their friends with only one mobile phone. Besides, people don’t have to carry a lot of money when they go outside, according to the latest Oxford research, China would not have been developing so rapidly in recent years without imposing stringent policy in relation to the development of digital payment technology.

However, there are several pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential merits of the cashless society. Firstly, the preponderant one is that digital payment depends on electricity and internet. Secondly, cashless society leads to a situation that most people stay at home rather than go outside. Lastly, according to a report from the New York Times 2018, edition, the cybercrime rate has been increased by the popularity of digital payment.

As discussed above, one can conclude cashless society has come already and has benefited individual’s life in numerous ways from letting customer finalize payment with just one tap by credit card, allow ing individual to transfer money to their friends with only one mobile phone, not carrying a lot of money when they go outside and whatnot. Nevertheless, we cannot oblivious to some likely risks.