It is often said that big supermarkets are the cause why local small stores are diminishing. This essay will vividly enlist a few effects of this trend to local communities, following some solution to improve this condition.

More people will tend to patronize supermarkets for its low prizes. Large stores have direct contact with the product supplier which gives them the luxury to lower the prices of all their goods. For example, baby diapers which are widely used by newborn babies up-to toddlers are $1 cheaper than local shops. Moreover, big stores offer perks like occasional sales, sudden item price drop and shopping cards. Lastly, large stores offer shoppers almost all they would need, unlike small shops. For instance, cooking "Kare Kare" requires a lot of ingredients such as peanut butter, kare powder, fresh meat and green leafy vegetables which local stores obviously don't have.

Although the aforementioned facts single-handedly elevates large supermarkets interest, there are certain methods to mitigate this. First perhaps the most effective way is adaptation. Local stores must offer competitive prices against their competitors, innovate and counter supermarkets perks like offering Cash on delivery or even go worldwide by offering online shopping. Another significant method is to sell unique items. Supermarkets offer almost all the customer needs, but that advantage also accompanied by demerits. Large stores are tightly coupled to the product and rules of the company, thus local stores can use this loophole to market bazaar items like chicha super worm, local pure honey and lambanog taken fresh from the coconut tree.

To conclude, while large supermarkets tend to benefit the local community, it is also clear that it crushes local shops down to bankruptcy. In my opinion, small shops must adapt to this current market status and formulate a strategic plan to improve their business and make it on par with large supermarkets.