The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people’s ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

Mass media has significantly changed our cognitive pattern. This is very apparent way of our daily lives and our surroundings today. It is strongly agreed that people’s ideology is massively influenced by Tv, Radio and newspapers. This will be proven by analysing how these mediums have shaped people’s ideas about lifestyle and habits.

To begin with, Mass media has constantly bombarded people with adverts, worldwide trends, fashion etc. The viewers get captivated and try to imitate that. For Instance, Televisions cover the life style of celebrities in jazzy manner and consequently most youngsters try to act and dress like them. This example clearly shows influence of mass media is constantly changing our life style and perceptions. Thus, mass media plays a great role in shaping one’s ideas.

Moreover, many people rely on weather prediction of mass media so that they can dress accordingly. For example, Melbourne city is known for its Capricious Climate. So, to hedge against the risk people check weather prediction before going out. This, habit of checking weather conditions is a clear example of impact of mass media as well as our growing dependency on it. Thus, TV, radio and newspapers have contributed in molding people’s habits.

This analysis proves the influence of mass media in altering people’s lives. In a nutshell, there is strong positive correlation between mass media and people’s ideology. It is expected that’s these channels will dominantly keep influencing human thinking.