Mass media like TV and newspapers influence people, particularly the young generation. Do you think it works as a pivot to shape society?

The mass media, including television, radio, and newspapers, have a great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Give reasons and relevant examples to support your answer.)

Recently, mass media has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question “will mass media like TV and newspapers influence people?”. Whereas it is a widely held view that mass media works as a pivot to shape the society, particularly young generation, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the social and political standpoint, public opinion is bound up inextricably with governmental policies, which indicates they lead to both public perception and social conduct. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2014 demonstrates the relationship between environmental factors and hectic lifestyle as well as an exponential increase in moral issues. Their academic criticism was impressive. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented thus far supports the contention that the likelihood of having a destructive impact is correlated positively with not only globalization but also political policy reform.

To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes “all’s well that ends well,” after analyzing what elaborated above, I entirely agree that mass media play an important role in shaping people’s ideas. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research, the further we discover.